Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Rovers stars named as NWFA finalists

Adam Armstrong and Lewis Travis are confirmed finalists for Northwest Football Awards

14 October 2020

Sponsored by

Rovers duo Adam Armstrong and Lewis Travis have been confirmed as finalists for this year’s Pitching In Northwest Football Awards.

The finalists have been announced following a public vote and a meeting between the judging panel.

Armstrong, who netted 17 times for Rovers last term, is in the running for the Championship Player of the Season award, whilst Travis is up for the Rising Star of the Season award.

Rovers Ladies duo Saffron Jordan and Natasha Fenton are also in contention for individual accolades.

Now in its 13th year, and in these strangest of times, the awards ceremony will be unlike ever before, but will be no less exciting.

Honours will be awarded to those who have achieved footballing excellence both on and off the pitch in the unprecedented 2019-20 season, from grassroots level through to the elite level of the beautiful game. 

The winners will be announced in a digital ceremony, which will take place across the Northwest Football Awards’ social media channels and website from 10am on Monday November 9th.

Fans can follow the awards being announced live throughout the day via the follow platforms:


Twitter: @NWFAwards

Instagram: @NWFAwards

Facebook: @NWFAwards


The finalists are listed below: 


Player of the Season - Championship

Adam Armstrong – Rovers

Daniel Johnson – Preston North End

Samy Morsy – Wigan Athletic


The Athletic Rising Star of the Season

Lewis Travis – Rovers

Dwight McNeil – Burnley

Tommy Doyle – Manchester City

Mason Greenwood – Manchester United

Josh Harrop – Preston North End

Antonee Robinson – Wigan Athletic


Women’s Player of the Season

Saffron Jordan – Rovers Ladies

Lauren Bracewell – Burnley

Rachel Furness – Liverpool

Steph Houghton – Manchester City

Lauren James – Manchester United


The Athletic Women’s Rising Star of the Season 

Natasha Fenton – Rovers Ladies

Evie Priestley – Burnley

Rinsola Babajide – Liverpool

Lauren Hemp – Manchester City

Lauren James – Manchester United

To view the full list of this year’s finalists, visit

Advertisement block