Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Team news: Rovers v Luton Town

One change for today's clash against The Hatters at Ewood Park, as Rovers aim to sign off September in style

28 September 2019

Sponsored by

Tony Mowbray has made one change to his starting XI for today's clash against Luton Town from the side that began at Reading last weekend.

Corry Evans drops out through llness, with Bradley Johnson coming back into the side in place of the Northern Ireland international.

Elliott Bennett skippers the side on what is his 150th appearance for the club since making the move from Norwich City in January 2016.

There is a spot on the bench for Dominic Samuel, who is part of a first team squad for the first time in over a year after picking up a knee injury back in August 2018.

Ben Brereton remains sidelined, as does Joe Rothwell, but Tosin Adarabioyo is back available and takes a space on the bench this afternoon.

Lewis Holtby is also named as a substitute, meaning he has to wait for a home debut in blue-and-white.

Luton include two former Rovers in their line-up, with Ryan Tunnicliffe and Academy graduate Matt Pearson both names in the team by Graeme Jones.

Top scorer James Collins leads the line for a side and already has four goals for The Hatters this season.

Jacob Butterfield was on trial with Rovers this summer, and he also starts for the visitors at Ewood Park today.

Although they do score goals, with only seven teams finding the net on more occasions than Jones' men, they do also concede at the other end - only basement pair Huddersfield Town and Stoke City have shipped more than the 16 that Luton have conceded so far this term.

Kick-off today is at 3pm and you can track all the action via iFollow Rovers and across our social media accounts.

Rovers: Walton, Bennett (c), Williams, Lenihan, Cunningham, Johnson, Travis, Armstrong, Dack, Downing, Gallagher.

Unused substitutes: Leutwiler, Graham, Samuel, Bell, Adarabioyo, Holtby, Buckley.

Luton Town: Sluga, Potts, Tunnicliffe, Bradley (c), Pearson, Cornick, Ruddock-Mpanzu, Collins, Brown, Bree, Butterfield.

Unused substitutes: Shea, McManaman, Berry, Lee, Bolton, LuaLua, Jones.

Referee: Gavin Ward.

Advertisement block