Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Team news: Rovers v Huddersfield Town

Five changes see returns for Nyambe, Adarabioyo, Travis and Johnson, and a first start for Holtby

19 October 2019

Sponsored by

Tony Mowbray has named five changes to his starting XI for today's game against Huddersfield Town at Ewood Park.

Two of the alterations are enforced, with Greg Cunningham and Darragh Lenihan missing out through injury, which allows Ryan Nyambe to start for the first time in the league alongside the returning Tosin Adarabioyo.

Lewis Holtby makes his first start for the club after arriving in the summer, whilst Bradley Johnson also comes in in place of Joe Rothwell.

Lewis Travis is the fifth returning Rover and he comes into the team in place of Corry Evans, who drops to the bench.

It looks as if Rovers could revert to three at the back, with Elliott Bennett and Stewart Downing playing in the wing back roles.

Amari'i Bell misses out on the squad after picking up a knee injury in training earlier in the week.

Downing appears in the league for the 550th time of his career and will go up against another former Middlesbrough trainee in Huddersfield's Jonathan Hogg.

The visitors include former Rovers loanee Danny Simpson in their starting team. The defender appeared 20 times for the club during the 2008-09 campaign.

Top scorer Karlan Grant is the man to be watched for The Terriers today. The six-goal frontman scored in the last outing - a 3-0 home win over Hull City - and will be aiming to add to his tally.

A reminder that kick-off today is at the earlier time of 12.30pm and you can track all the action with an audio pass on iFollow Rovers and our social media channels.

Rovers: Walton, Bennett (c), Adarabioyo, Nyambe, Williams, Downing, Travis, Johnson, Holtby, Dack, Armstrong.

Substitutes: Leutwiler, Rothwell, Gallagher, Graham, Evans, Rankin-Costello, Buckley.

Huddersfield Town: Grabara, Elphick, Hogg, Chalobah, Kachunga, Diakhaby, Grant, Simpson, Schindler (c), Brown, O'Brien.

Substitutes: Schofield, Bacuna, Pritchard, Campbell, Mounie, Stankovic, Hadergjonaj.

Referee: Darren Bond.

Advertisement block