Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Championship line-up complete

Rovers now know the 23 teams they will face in the upcoming campaign

27 May 2019

Sponsored by

The line-up for the 2019-20 Championship season has now been confirmed.

Following Aston Villa's 2-1 victory over Derby County in today's play-off final, Rovers now know the 23 teams they will face in the upcoming campaign.

Villa's victory at Wembley secured their place in the Premier League, where they will be joined by Norwich City and Sheffield United, who finished the 2018-19 Championship season in the automatic promotion positions.

The three teams to drop down from the top flight are Cardiff City, Fulham and Huddersfield Town, whilst Rotherham United, Bolton Wanderers and Ipswich Town were relegated to the third tier.

Luton Town and Barnsley secured automatic promotion to the Championship, whilst Charlton Athletic claimed the final promotion place after defeating Sunderland in a dramatic League One play-off final.

It will be the first time since the 1981-82 season that Rovers and Luton have played in the same division.

Rovers' shortest trip of the 2019-20 season will be the 13-mile journey to Preston North End, followed by the 22 miles to Wigan Athletic's DW Stadium.

Tony Mowbray's men will twice make the long journey to South Wales and five trips to the capital, with the 247-mile trip to Charlton Athletic the furthest.

Rovers fans will be able to plan their away days when the fixtures are announced on Thursday June 20th, with the 2019-20 Championship season getting underway on Saturday August 3rd.

The 23 teams Rovers will face next season are:

Birmingham City
Bristol City
Cardiff City
Charlton Athletic
Derby County
Huddersfield Town
Hull City
Leeds United
Luton Town
Nottingham Forest
Preston North End
Queens Park Rangers
Sheffield Wednesday
Stoke City
Swansea City
West Bromwich Albion
Wigan Athletic

Advertisement block