Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

International call for Rovers duo

Corry Evans and Charlie Mulgrew have earned call ups for Northern Ireland and Scotland, respectively

12 March 2019

Sponsored by

Rovers first team pair Corry Evans and Charlie Mulgrew have been called up for Northern Ireland and Scotland, respectively.

Evans, who has been a regular in the Rovers side this term, has been selected in the 27-man Northern Irish squad for their opening Euro 2020 qualifiers against Estonia and Belarus.

The 28-year-old will be hoping to add more caps to his tally when Estonia visit Windsor Park on Thursday 21st March, before Belarus make the trip to Belfast three days later.

The full Northern Ireland squad can be found below:

Goalkeepers: Michael McGovern (Norwich City), Bailey Peacock-Farrell (Leeds United), Conor Hazard (Partick Thistle - loan from Celtic).

Defenders: Aaron Hughes (Hearts), Gareth McAuley (Rangers), Jonny Evans (Leicester City), Craig Cathcart (Watford), Conor McLaughlin (Millwall), Paddy McNair (Middlesbrough), Aaron Lewis (Norwich City), Tom Flanagan (Sunderland), Daniel Ballard (Arsenal).

Midfielders: Stephen Davis (Rangers - on loan from Southampton), Niall McGinn (Aberdeen), Corry Evans (Rovers), Shane Ferguson (Millwall), Stuart Dallas (Leeds United), George Saville (Middlesbrough), Jordan Jones (Kilmarnock), Gavin Whyte (Oxford United), Jordan Thompson (Blackpool).

Forwards: Kyle Lafferty (Rangers), Josh Magennis (Bolton Wanderers), Liam Boyce (Burton Albion), Paul Smyth (Accrington Stanley - on loan from QPR), Will Grigg (Sunderland), Connor Washington (Sheffield United).

Elsewhere, Charlie Mulgrew could earn caps 40 and 41 should he represent Scotland in the Tartan Army's two upcoming Euro 2020 Qualifiers.

Alex McLeish's side head to Kazakhstan on Thursday 21st March, just three days before they take on San Marino.

Charlie's current injury means the defender will be assessed before a final decision is made as to whether he will join up with Scotland or not.

The full Scotland squad can be found below:

Goalkeepers: Jordan Archer (Millwall), Scott Bain (Celtic), Jon McLaughlin (Sunderland).

Defenders: David Bates (Hamburg), Scott McKenna (Aberdeen), Charlie Mulgrew (Rovers), Stephen O'Donnell (Kilmarnock), Liam Palmer (Sheffield Wednesday), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), John Souttar (Hearts), Kieran Tierney (Celtic).

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Barry Bannan (Sheffield Wednesday), John Fleck (Sheffield United), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), Callum Paterson (Cardiff City), Graeme Shinnie (Aberdeen), Oliver Burke (Celtic), James Forrest (Celtic), Ryan Fraser (Bournemouth).

Forwards: Oli McBurnie (Swansea), Marc McNulty (Hibernian), Lewis Morgan (Sunderland), Johnny Russell (Kansas City).

Advertisement block