Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Dates for your diary this summer

When are the fixtures released? When is the opening day of the season? All the important dates are here!

17 June 2019

Rovers supporters can now begin to prepare for the 2019-20 Championship campaign, with the EFL having confirmed a number of key dates for next season.

Fixture release day is set for Thursday 20th June, when all 72 clubs in the EFL will discover their schedule for the new campaign.

The first weekend of August is to host the opening round of league fixtures, with August 3rd the date set for the first batch of traditional Saturday games in the EFL, whilst round one of the Carabao Cup is to take place during the week commencing August 12th.

Wembley will play host to the Carabao Cup final on Sunday 1st March 2020 and the season-ending Sky Bet EFL play-offs will once again be staged at Wembley Stadium, this time across two weekends in May.

The League Two final will start proceedings on Saturday 16th May, before League One and the Championship take centre stage the following weekend on Sunday 24th May and Monday 25th May, respectively.

The scheduling of the respective Play-Off finals is due to a busy period in the football calendar, with Wembley Stadium also hosting fixtures at Euro 2020, including the semi-finals and final.

Don't forget, Rovers have also confirmed five pre-season friendlies away to lower league opposition in July, with one more game set to be announced soon. 

A full list of the key dates ahead of the 2019-20 EFL season can be found below:

  • Fixture Release Date – Thursday 20th June 2019, 9am
  • Carabao Cup first round draw - Thursday 20th June 2019, 7pm
  • Barrow v Rovers – Saturday 6th July 2019, 3pm 
  • Rochdale v Rovers – Sunday 14th July 2019, 3pm 
  • Mansfield Town v Rovers – Wednesday 17th July 2019, 7.30pm 
  • Clitheroe v Rovers XI - Thursday 18th July 2019, 7.45pm
  • Rangers v Rovers - Sunday 21st July 2019, 3pm
  • Kendal Town v Rovers XI - Tuesday 23rd July, 7.30pm
  • Bury v Rovers – Wednesday 24th July 2019, 7.45pm 
  • Blackpool v Rovers – Saturday 27th July 2019, 3pm 
  • Southport v Rovers XI - Sunday 28th July 2019, 7.30pm
  • Lancaster City v Rovers XI - Wednesday 31st July 2019, 7pm
  • Start date – Saturday 3rd August 2019 (with a likely live game on Friday 2nd August)
  • Transfer deadline day – Thursday 8th August 2019, 5pm
  • Carabao Cup Round One – w/c 12th August 2019
  • Carabao Cup Final – Sunday 1st March 2020 
  • League Two Play-Off Final – Saturday 16th May 2020
  • League One Play-Off Final – Sunday 24th May 2020
  • Championship Play-Off Final – Monday 25th May 2020

Advertisement block