Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Team news: Rovers v Bristol City

Three changes for today's clash against the Robins at Ewood Park

9 February 2019

Sponsored by

Tony Mowbray has named three changes to his starting XI for today's game against Bristol City from the team the suffered a first defeat of 2019 at Brentford a week ago.

Two of those alterations come in the backline, with Darragh Lenihan out through injury meaning a return to the side for skipper Charlie Mulgrew.

The Scotland international last played at Newcastle United at the beginning of 2019, but has missed out with a hamstring problem since.

The captain is set to make his 100th appearance in all competitions for the club, against the team who he scored against earlier in the season.

The other change to the backline comes at left back, with Amari'i Bell dropping to the bench and being replaced by Derrick Williams, who, like Mulgrew, hasn't played since the cup clash at Newcastle.

Further forward, Corry Evans is sidelined with injury, which has resulted in the Northern Irishman not being named in the squad, with Richie Smallwood coming in to partner Lewis Travis in the holding midfield positions.

For Bristol City, Blackburn-born stopper Frank Fielding starts in goal against the club where he started his career, whilst Kasey Palmer, who appeared 17 times for Rovers earlier in the season, is available from the bench if needed by Lee Johnson.

Two former Preston North End players return to East Lancashire in the form of Baily Wright, who skippers the side, and Josh Brownhill.

Kick-off this afternoon is at 3pm and you can follow all the action via iFollow Rovers or across our social media channels.

Rovers: Raya, Bennett, Rodwell, Mulgrew (c), Williams, Smallwood, Travis, Reed, Dack, Armstrong, Graham.

Substitutes: Leutwiler, Nyambe, Rothwell, Bell, Brereton, Nuttall, Conway.

Bristol City: Fielding, Dasilva, Webster, Wright (c), Brownhill, Diedhiou, O'Dowda, Weimann, Paterson, Pack, Kalas.

Substitutes: O'Leary, Pisano, Taylor, Kelly, Eliasson, Semenyo, Palmer.

Advertisement block