Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Team news: Sheffield United v Rovers

Tony Mowbray makes eight changes to the team for tonight's test against The Blades

27 August 2019

Sponsored by

Tony Mowbray has named eight changes to his starting XI for tonight's Carabao Cup second round clash against Sheffield United.

The tie, which takes place at Bramall Lane, sees Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams and Bradley Dack keep their places from the side that began against Cardiff City at the weekend.

Adam Armstrong is expected to lead the line, with John Buckley and Joe Rothwell taking their spots on the flanks.

Greg Cunningham returns to the side in place of Amari'i Bell, having been ineligible to feature against his parent club at the weekend.

In the other full back position, Ryan Nyambe appears for the 100th time in Rovers colours.

Jayson Leutwiler gets the nod in goal, with Corry Evans and Richie Smallwood the chosen midfield pair in the middle of the park.

The experienced trio of Elliott Bennett, Bradley Johnson and Stewart Downing are all given the night off and aren't included in the squad.

The hosts include record £20m signing Oli McBurnie in their team, with the ex-Swansea City man pairing up with the experienced Billy Sharp up front for The Blades.

Further experience is found at the back, with Chris Wilder chosing Richard Stearman and ex-England international Phil Jagielka in the heart of his defence.

Burnley-born Ollie Norwood begins in midfield alongside Mo Besic, who was sent off against Rovers for Middlesbrough last season at The Riverside Stadium.

Kick-off this evening is at 7.45pm and all the action can be tracked via our social media accounts.

Sheffield United: Moore, McBurnie, Sharp (c), Morrison, Jagielka, Norwood, K. Freeman, Stearman, Bryan, Osborn, Besic.

Substitutes: Verrips, Stevens, Basham, Lundstram, L. Freeman, McGoldrick, Mousset.

Rovers: Leutwiler, Nyambe, Lenihan (c), Williams, Cunningham, Smallwood, Evans, Buckley, Dack, Rothwell, Armstrong.

Substitutes: Walton, Gallagher, Graham, Chapman, Travis, Rankin-Costello, Grayson.

Referee: Geoff Eltringham.

Advertisement block