Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

End of Season Awards review

Prizes shared around on our night of celebrations back at Ewood Park

8 May 2018

Sponsored by

The season was signed off in style on Monday evening with our End of Season Awards evening, held at Ewood Park, and it was a profitable night for Bradley Dack who scooped a number of prizes.

First up was our Young Player of the Year award, and there were certainly plenty of contenders to pick up the prize.

After all, the likes of Lewis Travis and Willem Tomlinson have both appeared for the first team this season, whilst fellow Academy graduates in Ryan Nyambe and David Raya have both been regulars this term.

There would also have been a strong shout for Joe Nuttall, following an excellent season for the Under-23s in particular in front of goal.

But it was Raya who took it as he signed off an outstanding debut season in which he kept 17 clean sheets to collect the award.

Next up was our Goal of the Season award, which was collected by Bradley Dack - who was going to have a busy evening - for finishing off our brilliant team goal at Peterborough United back in December.

Dack then collected his Player of the Year prize from Mark Farrimond from The Envelope Works, who were kindly sponsoring the evening.

The sooner he was back down in his seat Dack was back up again, this time to pick up the Peter Jackson Seasonal Man of the Match award, which was presented by Danny Bond from Peter Jackson.

The next award was for Best Newcomer, and following a summer of change, there was numerous names who could have picked up the prize.

But it was The King of Ewood himself who won it thanks to an excellent debut season at Ewood for Richie Smallwood.

Utility man Elliott Bennett collected the Unsung Hero award for his efforts this term, with the 29-year-old playing on both wings, in attacking midfield, central midfield and at right back across the campaign, before the much coveted Players' Player of the Year was announced.

As voted by the Rovers squad, there were numerous candidates for the gong, but it was the skipper Charlie Mulgrew who earned the honour for his leadership, determination, defensive work and goals.

And the night was signed off with the Special Achievement award, with it being fitting that Tony Mowbray picked up the prize for turning things around and taking Rovers back to the Championship!

Well done to all our winners, and remember to check back later on for our gallery from the evening.

Don't forget, you can purchase your Season Ticket for our 2018-19 campaign back in the Championship! For more details, please click here.

Advertisement block