Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Darragh and Derrick hoping to feature

Rovers pair in line to make Republic of Ireland debuts at Celtic Park today

20 May 2018

Sponsored by

Defensive duo Darragh Lenihan and Derrick Williams are both hoping to earn their first caps for the full Republic of Ireland team later on today.

The Rovers pair were called up to Martin O'Neill's squad last week, with the first of three friendly matches taking place later on today.

The defenders have travelled with the rest of the squad to Scotland and will both be hoping to play a part against Celtic, for Scott Brown's testimonial this afternoon.

The two defenders will hope to line up at the heart of the Irish defence alongside ex-Rover Shane Duffy for the upcoming games, whilst another former Blue in Alan Judge has also been named in the squad.

Both Darragh and Del will then hope to feature against France in the Stade de France in Paris on Monday 28th May and then at home to USA later in the week on Saturday 2nd June in Dublin. 

The full squad can be found below: 
Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Colin Doyle (Bradford City), Kieran O'Hara (Manchester United), Ian Lawlor (Doncaster Rovers), Conor O'Malley (Peterborough United)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Alex Pearce, Richard Keogh (Derby County), John Egan (Brentford), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Kevin Long (Burnley), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Greg Cunningham (Preston North End)

Midfielders: Alan Judge (Brentford), Conor Hourihane, Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O'Kane (Leeds United), David Meyler (Hull City), Shaun Williams (Millwall), Alan Browne, Daryl Horgan (Preston North End), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion)

Forwards: Jonathan Walters (Burnley), Shane Long (Southampton), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Aiden O'Brien (Millwall), Sean Maguire, Callum Robinson (Preston North End), Graham Burke (Shamrock Rovers)
Good luck, lads!

Advertisement block