Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Team news: Hibernian v Rovers

Boss hands non-competitive debuts to Rothwell and Davenport, naming XIs for each half in Edinburgh

8 July 2018

Sponsored by

Rovers boss Tony Mowbray has named two different XIs for the clash against SPFL side Hibernian at Easter Road for our first pre-season friendly of the summer.

Mowbray returns to old territory having spent two years with Hibs between 2004 and 2006 and hands non-competitive debuts to new captures Joe Rothwell and Jacob Davenport, with the two midfield men being handed berths for the first half in Edinburgh.

Youngsters Scott Wharton, Lewis Travis, Dan Butterworth, Willem Tomlinson and Matty Platt will all be given game time against the Scottish outfit, with the former trio playing in the first half and the latter pair in the second.

Fresh from signing new contracts in the summer, experienced duo Craig Conway and Danny Graham will play in the second half, in a team which contains a number of the mainstays from our League One promotion campaign, with the likes of Charlie Mulgrew, Richie Smallwood and Bradley Dack also appearing from half time onwards.

Quartet David Raya, Paul Downing, Ben Gladwin and Dominic Samuel aren't risked, with the four of them carrying slight knocks.

Hosts Hibs include former Liverpool goalkeeper Adam Bogdan in their XI, whilst Paul Hanlon - whose testimonial it is today - also starts at the heart of the defence.

The highly-rated John McGinn is one to watch in the middle of the park, whilst new signing Stevie Mallan, who joined from Barnsley earlier this week, begins his reign as a Hibs player as a substitute.

Rovers (first half): Leutwiler, Bennett, Lenihan, Wharton, Bell, Davenport, Travis, Evans, Rothwell, Butterworth, Nuttall.

Rovers: (second half)Fisher, Platt, Mulgrew, Williams, Nyambe, Smallwood, Conway, Tomlinson, Whittingham, Dack, Graham.

Hibernian: Bogdan, Gray, Stevenson, Hanlon, McGregor, Bartley, McGinn, Ambrose, Kamberi, Shaw, Swanson.

Substitutes: Laidlaw, Mallan, Murray, Whittaker, Boyle, Slivka, Allan, Mackie.

Referee: Gavin Duncan

Advertisement block