Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Rovers to learn Carabao Cup fate

The second round draw takes place tomorrow, with Mick McCarthy and Chris Waddle conducting

15 August 2018

Sponsored by

Rovers will be ball number two when the draw for the second round of the Carabao Cup is made tomorrow night.

The draw will take place live on Sky Sports from the Stadium of Light ahead of Sunderland’s round one clash with Sheffield Wednesday.

Pundits Mick McCarthy and Chris Waddle will conduct the draw live on the programme from 7pm.

Rovers secured their place in the hat courtesy of an impressive 5-1 victory over Carlisle United at Brunton Park on Tuesday night.

The 13 Premier League sides who are not competing in European competitions, along with Championship clubs Stoke City and Swansea City, will enter the competition at the second round stage. The remaining seven Premier League clubs will enter the competition in round three.

The second round draw is unseeded, but will be regionalised into North and South sections. Rovers will therefore play one of the following clubs:

• Aston Villa
• Blackpool
• Burton Albion
• Derby County
• Doncaster Rovers
• Everton
• Fleetwood Town
• Huddersfield Town
• Hull City
• Leeds United
• Leicester City
• Lincoln City
• Macclesfield Town
• Mansfield Town
• Middlesbrough
• Newcastle United
• Nottingham Forest
• Preston North End
• Rochdale
• Rotherham United
• Stoke City
• Walsall
• West Bromwich Albion
• Wolverhampton Wanderers
• Sunderland / Sheffield Wednesday

Second round ties are scheduled to be played week commencing Monday 27th August.

Advertisement block