Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Rovers quartet named in PFA Team of the Season

Dack, Mulgrew, Graham and Bell all in the XI best players this season in League One

18 April 2018

Sponsored by

Four Rovers players have been named in the PFA League One Team of the Season, following a fine campaign from each.

The League One Player of the Year Bradley Dack is one of them, as is skipper Charlie Mulgrew, who was also named in the EFL Team of the Year alongside Dack.

But two more Rovers have been recognised for their performances this season in Danny Graham and Amari'i Bell, who make up the fearsome four.

Dack has been a huge influence for Rovers this season with 16 goals and plenty of assists to his name so far this term, whilst skipper Mulgrew has shown outstanding leadership qualities alongside his 13 goals from the heart of the Rovers defence.

After a slow start to the campaign, striker Graham has found the net on a regular basis in recent months and also has 16 goals to his name in all competitions.

Amari'i arrived in January after excelling at Fleetwood Town for the first half of the season, and despite struggling to displace Derrick Williams at left back, has shown his quality when called upon in the blue and white shirt.

The Rovers four join Wigan Athletic quartet Nathan Byrne, Dan Burn, Nick Powell and Will Grigg in the Team of the Season, with Shrewsbury stopper Dean Henderson, Walsall playmaker Erhun Oztumer and Peterborough hitman Jack Marriott making up the XI.

The 2018 PFA Awards will be held at the Grosvenor House, London on April 22nd.

The PFA Awards celebrates the best of English football in an evening attended by hundreds of current professional stars of the game, to recognise the outstanding performers in every division.

As the season draws towards its climax, the PFA Awards is a celebration of the achievement of all PFA members from the last 12 months.

In addition to the PFA Players’ Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year categories, the divisional Team of the Year are celebrated and we honour footballing achievement through the PFA’s Merit Award.

Ex-Rovers player and current PFA Chief Executive, Gordon Taylor OBE said: “The PFA Awards is always a special occasion and one of the biggest nights in football’s social calendar.

“For the winners who are honoured at the awards, there can be no greater personal accolade than that of being recognised by your peers; an honour to be cherished.”

Congratulations to Bradley, Charlie, Danny and Amari'i!

The full team can be seen below:

Advertisement block