Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Invited Under-21 teams confirmed for 2017-18 Checkatrade Trophy

2 July 2017

Sponsored by

The 16 invited Under-21 teams for the 2017/18 Checkatrade Trophy have been confirmed, with newcomers Tottenham Hotspur, Manchester City, Newcastle United and Fulham taking their place in next season’s competition.

Premier League Champions Chelsea will again take part and will be joined by 11 other Under-21 sides from England’s top-flight as the country’s leading Category One Academies look to pit their stars against professionals, young and old, from the 48 League One and League Two teams.

Four EFL clubs will have Under-21 sides involved, with Sunderland, Middlesbrough, Reading joining Fulham in the Group Stage draw.

On Friday 7th July clubs will be advised of the names of the three EFL sides in each of the sixteen Round 1 groups.

Then on Wednesday 12th July at 3.00 pm each Category One club will then be drawn into each group on a North / South basis with the group fixtures being released therafter.

The first round of fixtures scheduled to take place week commencing 28 August.

The full list of invited Under-21 sides is as follows:

Brighton & Hove Albion
Stoke City
Leicester City
Swansea City
Manchester City
Tottenham Hotspur
West Bromwich Albion
Newcastle United
West Ham United

Advertisement block