Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Rovers reach EFL Trust National Walking Football Cup final

30 April 2017

Sponsored by

Our walking football stars have got into a very welcome winning habit - and are amongst the favourites to win the EFL Trust National Walking Football Cup having reached the final!

Though Blackburn Rovers lost the north west regional final of the competition to Blackpool in a tense penalty shoot out, the hard work was already done, with the area's top two teams already assured of their place as the north west representatives in the 12-team national stages.
The side saw off group rivals Wigan Athletic, Carlisle United, Preston North End and Accrington Stanley before defeating hosts Bolton Wanderers in the semi finals to qualify for the finals day.
Rovers are represented in this year's competition by Jack's Walkers - a team made up of players from the club's regular walking football squad - who won a qualification tournament hosted by Blackburn Rovers Community Trust for the right to compete in the event.
Tony Jones, one of the top players who has led the club to the national finals for the first time, revealed that the team also won new friends amongst the tournament officials, explaining:

"After our game against PNE, the referee thanked us for our sportsmanship, the way we conducted ourselves and accepting his decisions without question, describing us as 'a credit to the club', which is very satisfying feedback."

The big day for the squad has been confirmed as Saturday 17th June, when they’ll get to enjoy playing at Aston Villa's impressive Bodymoor Heath Training Ground, where they'll also be joined by the additional qualifiers from other regions - Bradford City, Cheltenham Town, Colchester United, Dagenham and Redbridge, Gillingham, Kidderminster Harriers, Luton Town, Notts County, Plymouth Argyle and Sheffield United.
Rovers will be ranked among the favourites on the day having run Blackpool so close; the Seasiders have won the north west region for three years in a row and are the tournament's reigning national champions.

Advertisement block