Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Rovers to play in the EFL Trophy

27 July 2016

Sponsored by

Blackburn Rovers have accepted an invitation to take part in this season's EFL Trophy.

Earlier this summer the EFL announced a change in format for the competition, which for the first time, will include 16 Category 1 clubs.

Rovers can now confirm that they are one of those clubs and that they will be taking part in the EFL Trophy this season.

A total of 64 clubs will compete in the competition, beginning with 16 groups of four teams, each of which will include at least one club from each of Leagues One and Two, along with Category 1 team.

The following Category 1 sides will play in the 2016/17 EFL Trophy:

Leicester City, Southampton, West Ham United, Stoke City, Chelsea, Everton, Swansea City, West Bromwich Albion, Sunderland, Norwich City, Middlesbrough, Brighton and Hove Albion, Derby County, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Blackburn Rovers and Reading.

The top two sides in each group will then go into a knockout stage that will culminate in a showpiece final at Wembley Stadium on Sunday 2nd April.

The draw for the competition will take place this Wednesday at 10am.

Advertisement block