Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Mitre goal of the year

7 January 2016

Sponsored by

Help find our best goal of 2015!

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2015 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2015 calendar year.

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by choosing your favourite from our shortlist of five goals, which can be seen on our YouTube page.

The closing date is Sunday January 31st.

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2016 held at Manchester Central.

A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s Football League Tonight Show.  

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering awards ceremony at Manchester Central on April 17th 2016. 

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2014), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic – 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolves – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

To find out more about The Football League Awards, please visit

Advertisement block