Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Rovers legend to be honoured tonight

14 October 2015

Sponsored by

Bob Crompton joins a host of the beautiful game’s heroes to be inducted into the Hall of Fame

Another nine football legends are to receive one of the most revered honours in football – an induction into the English Hall of Fame at the National Football Museum.

The new ‘Hall of Famers’ will all be inducted at a prestigious award ceremony this Wednesday evening.

This year’s award recipients include Manchester United “Class of 92” graduate Gary Neville, who made over 600 appearances for his club, alongside former teammate Ryan Giggs. 

Nottingham Forest terrace hero and England hardman Stuart Pearce; Leeds United’s no nonsense defensive lynchpin and the first recipient of the PFA’s Player of the Year Award, Norman Hunter will also receive the accolade.

Also recognised is former Fulham and Tottenham Hotspurs midfielder Alan Mullery, who was a key part of Spurs’ 1967 FA Cup win and later lifted the League and UEFA Cups as club captain and ‘The Golden Boy of Welsh Football’ Ivor Allchurch, who played a starring role in Wales’ 1958 World Cup campaign. 

The honour roll is completed with the induction of one of the women’s games standout talents Faye White, who spent an incredibly successful 17 years at a dominant Arsenal Ladies; Gary Davies, a hero of the England Cerebral Palsy team who continues to dedicate his life to football through youth team coaching, and Blackburn Rovers and England legend Bob Crompton who played over 500 times, and managed the club in the early part of the 20th century. 

Their names will join others inducted in previous years, including Alan Shearer, Peter Schmeichel, Gordon Banks, Trevor Francis and Sir Tom Finney, whose achievements are already celebrated with a place in the Hall of Fame, a focal point of the museum.

Inductees are chosen by a panel featuring some of the biggest names in football including the Museum’s President Sir Bobby Charlton, Vice President Sir Alex Ferguson, Gordon Taylor and Mark Lawrenson.  

National Football Museum Director Kevin Moore said: “Each year we think the event and calibre of inductees can’t get any higher and each year our expectations are surpassed.  This year we’ve received more votes than ever with Ossie Ardilles, Jimmy Armfield, Michael Owen and Colin Bell just some of the names who’ve taken the time to cast their vote. 

“The awards dinner is an incredible opportunity to gather these football greats in one room and reflect on their successes. We’re delighted that we’ll also be joined by England Women’s captain Steph Houghton and previous inductees including Cliff Jones (Spurs) and Eddie Gray (Leeds United).  

“As ever we’re extremely grateful to the ongoing support from our main sponsor the Professional Footballers’ Association who are instrumental in ensuring that the Hall of Fame is becoming one of the most prestigious fixtures in the sporting awards calendar. We’re also delighted that The FA is once again supporting our Football for All and Women’s Football Awards.”

To qualify for nomination players must have finished their career or be aged over 30 and have played or managed in England for at least five years. 

The National Football Museum provides a world-class home for the greatest collection of football memorabilia ever assembled, in addition to housing its nationally-recognised Hall of Fame in Manchester.

More than 140,000 objects, works of art and photographs make up this unique collection with over 2,500 on display at any one time.  Highlights include a shirt from the world's first international match played in 1872, the 1966 World Cup Final ball and the shirt worn by Maradona during the infamous 1986 ‘Hand of God’ quarter final match between England and Argentina.

Admission is free of charge but, as the museum is a registered charity, it relies on donations from the public and support from the corporate sector.

Advertisement block