Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Rovers legend honoured by National Football Museum

16 October 2015

Sponsored by

Bob Crompton joins a host of footballing heroes already in the Hall of Fame.

Rovers hero Bob Crompton was one of two special posthumous awards handed out as he joined another nine legends to be inducted into the National Football Museum Hall of Fame at a prestigious awards ceremony on Wednesday night.

Receiving the award alongside Bob Crompton’s grandson and family was Blackburn Rovers Club President Keith Lee. He said: "It is a great honour for the club and his family to be here to receive his award."

PFA Chief Executive, and former Rovers player Gordon Taylor, speaking of his memories of Crompton recalled: "He scored one of the quickest, fastest goals ever seen at Wembley and tonight is about honouring the best." 

Appearing 576 times for Blackburn Rovers between 1897 and 1920, Crompton became synonymous with his home-town club, captaining them to two First Division titles.

Admired as much for his character as for his playing abilities, Crompton was the first professional player to captain England. The first England player to receive 25 caps, and his record total of 41 caps was not beaten until 1952.

In fact Crompton’s association with Blackburn Rovers did not end with his retirement in 1920. Between 1921 and 1936 he managed the club, winning the FA Cup final in 1928. Re-appointed in 1938, he continued until his death in 1941.

Also inducted into the Hall of Fame were Manchester United duo Ryan Giggs and Gary Neville, former Tottenham midfielder Alan Mullery, Norman Hunter of Leeds United, England and Arsenal women's footballer Faye White and Gary Davies of the England Cerebral Palsy team. 

Nottingham Forest and England defender Stuart Pearce, as well as Wales and Swansea forward Ivor Allchurch also joined the roll call of beautiful game greats. 

Their names join over 130 others inducted in previous years, including Alan Shearer, Peter Schmeichel, Gordon Banks, Trevor Francis and Sir Tom Finney.

Inductees are chosen by a panel featuring some of the biggest names in football including the Museum’s President Sir Bobby Charlton, Vice President Sir Alex Ferguson, Gordon Taylor and Mark Lawrenson.  

To qualify for nomination players must have finished their career or be aged over 30 and have played or managed in the English league for at least five years. 

Advertisement block