Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Lowey up for top goal!

26 January 2014

Jason Lowe has topped the poll for Rovers’ best goal of 2013 for his blockbuster strike against Middlesbrough in November.

The midfielder unleashed an unstoppable shot into the top corner from 25 yards to seal a crucial 1-0 win and break his long-standing Rovers duck.

The Football League launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2013 and have been asking for fans help in deciding which goals from the past 12 months should be put forward as nominations.

Fans from each Football League club have been voting for their favourite goal from any Football League competition in 2013, including goals scored in the Sky Bet Football League or the Capital One Cup.

Jason’s stunning strike - his first for the club - will now be entered into the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2014. A judging panel will then review the goals, with the top 10 being shown on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM on Saturday February 8th.

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering awards ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday March 16th 2014.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year include Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest - 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City - 2011) and Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010).

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Advertisement block