Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Mitre Goal of the Year

5 February 2013

Vote for our best goal from the first half of this season...

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2012 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the first half of this season should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2012 calendar year, to include goals scored in the npower Championship and the Capital One Cup.

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by tweeting your favourite goal for the first half of the 2012-13 season, only goals scored between the start of the season in August up to December 31st can be considered.

Tweet @onerovers with the hashtag #rovers2012 followed by your favourite goal from the first half of the season. The goal with the most votes will be submitted to the Football League as our nomination.

Closing date for nominations is Monday 11th February.  

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2013.  The winner will be decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 24th March 2013.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2012), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2011), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2010), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2009), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2008), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2007) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2006).

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Advertisement block