Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Penalty woe for Rovers

10 October 2012

Oldham win penalty shootout after goalless draw at Brockhall.

Rovers crashed out of the Lancashire Senior Cup at the first attempt after losing a penalty shootout against Oldham.

The experienced Rovers outfit were taken to penalty kicks after a goalless ninety minutes, the visitors winning the shootout 5-4.

Iain Brunskill's side started brightly, Josh Morris denied early on when his turn and shot was tipped over by Luke Simpson, then Ruben Rochina struck the outside of the post after a short corner caught Oldham out.

Colin Kazim-Richards got another runout, with 45 minutes under his belt and went as close to anyone when he rattled the crossbar on 22.

The vistors grew stronger as the half wore on, Matt Smith wasting an excellent chance when he headed wide when well placed.

On 34 minutes Oldham were awarded a penalty after Kellen Daly pushed Tom Clarke in the box. Smith stepped up but put his effort wide of Sandomierski's goal.

Half time substitute Raheem Hanley set up Diogo Rosado early on in the second half, but the attacker saw his close-range header saved.

Oldham went up the other end and Daniel Taylor was thwarted by a Sandomierski stop.

Taylor saw another header saved before a Josh Morris effort whistled narrowly over but as the game entered the final ten minutes it became clear that it would require penalties to settle the tie.

Both sides scored their first four penalties, but Hugo Fernandez saw his and Rovers' fifth saved by Simpson, that meant Youssouf M'Changama needed to score to send the Latics through and he duly obliged, sending Sandomierski the wrong way.

ROVERS: Sandomierski, Henley, Nuno Henrique (sub Fernandez 59 mins), Daly, Ribeiro, Rochina, Rosado, Paulo Jorge, Morris, Dunn (sub Edinho 83 mins), Kazim-Richards (sub R. Hanley 46 mins).

Subs not used: Urwin, O'Sullivan.

OLDHAM: Simpson, Brown, Mellor, MChangama, Belezika, Clarke, Millar, Winchester, Smith, Taylor, Hughes.

Subs not used: Jones, Coleman, Sutherland, Wandles, McIntosh.

Advertisement block